Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Rating: 5 Stars

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderly again.” How is that for an opening sentence?! I read this book over the summer, and am just now getting around to reviewing it. But I can honestly say I loved this classic Gothic novel. I’ve never read anything quite like it and probably never will ever again. I “read” the audio book version and the performance and narration was just amazing! I am looking forward to rereading this again very soon.

“Working as a paid companion to a bitter elderly lady, the timid heroine of Rebecca learns her place. Life is bleak until, on a trip to the South of France, she falls in love with Maxim de Winter, a handsome widower whose proposal takes her by surprise. Whisked from Monte Carlo to Manderley, Maxim’s isolated Cornish estate, the friendless young bride begins to realize she barely knows her husband at all. And in every corner of every room is the phantom of his beautiful first wife, Rebecca.”

What gives this book 5 stars?
1.) I love how the main character Mrs. de Winter remained nameless throughout the story, I thought that added a form of uniqueness and originality to the story.
2.) I also loved reading the story from Mrs. de Winter’s entire point of view. It was interesting to read her thoughts and feelings all throughout the story.
3.) The imagery used in this novel was extremely well done. I could practically visualize everything from the beautiful rose garden to the azaleas that lined the long driveway to the little cottage by the sea. I love it when an author goes above and beyond to provide the reader with such in depth descriptions.
4.) In the beginning the plot was very hard to figure out, for the first half of the book it sets up as just a romantic kind of story but as the story progresses the plot becomes more clear and starts to become very suspenseful. And the ending, as abrupt as it was, was chilling!


All in all this is a great story and I highly recommend reading it! Have you read this one? How do your thoughts compare to mine?

Nicole Elizabeth


Leave a comment