The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Rating: 5 Stars

“Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that’s an Agatha Christie mystery in a Groundhog Day Loop, with a bit of Quantum Leap to it. Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Claire North.”

I received an arc from Bookish First. All opinions are my own. Thank you to the publisher and author!

I read this book as part of a book club I host over the summer. This book isn’t like anything I’ve read before, its definitely a lot different from what I’m used to reading but I still really enjoyed it nonetheless. It is a highly original and unique story. This story is like a puzzle just when you think you know, a twist gets thrown in and it makes you rethink everything. That’s the best kind of book.

What gives this book 5 stars?

  1. Obviously, I’ve already touched on this point but it bares reiterating. This is an extremely unique read. I was so impressed with the author’s flawless ability to write multiple povs and plot twists. Everything, every character, every plot twist flowed so well. I can only imagine how difficult this must be.
  2. The characters! I love good flawed characters when it comes to a mystery, the more the better. It makes the ending so much harder to predict which I believe is the way every mystery should be.
  3. Plot twists! There are SO many of them in this book. Just when you think you know, you really don’t and I love that! It really helps make a book entertaining and “binge worthy”!

Do yourself a huge favor and just read this book. Perfect for fans of mysteries, vintage crime, and magical realism!

Have you read this one? What did you think? Drop a comment below!

Nicole Elizabeth

One thought on “The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s